I am not a domestic goddess

19 Apr

I had Vine-Ripened Tomato with Baby Spinach & Feta Soup for dinner. It was delicious. Thick, full of flavour and just the right amount of chunks 🙂

It came from a carton.

Did you just faint?

That’s right, a carton 😛

You see, as much as i love to cook, sometime i just can’t be bothered. I felt somewhat fraudulent mincing about the Blogosphere full of amazing home-cooks and their amazing creations, and then there’s me who busts out the occasional moment of deliciousness.

And then i got over it. This isn’t a food blog, it’s a life blog…and sometimes i create share-worthy meals and share them. I love food, love reading about it, cooking it, eating it, photographing it. I have a ridiculously large collection of recipe books. But i’m not going to even attempt to create the facade of perfection…because that’s just not me. Give me real life any day!

I feel like i’m starting to find my feet in this cyber world of Blogs. The Fancy Flea has been around for 4 months now, and in that time i’ve almost walked away countless times. But along the way i’ve been propped up by complete strangers who took the time to comment on my post, and “met” some truly lovely people who i’d love to someday meet. I’ve been blinded by shiny pretty things, inspired by creative genius and had a glimpse of the lives of people on the other side of the world.

I feel secure in myself.

Well…that went in a totally different direction than i thought it would! Check out Donna Hay’s Roasted Pumpkin Soup , you won’t be disappointed ♥

11 Responses to “I am not a domestic goddess”

  1. Trina Curran 19/04/2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I love this post…I’m having that feeling of walking away again, but I just keep posting along…and I have finally found where I need to be, I think. Sometimes I still wonder, but it’s there, it’s just a matter of acting upon it and finding the little group that loves it as much as I do. So, for now, I will just keep writing! 🙂 I think your blog is fabulous, by the way. And, dang, I gotta try that soup! haha!

  2. Heather @girlichef 20/04/2011 at 2:58 am #

    Ha ha ha ha…I think everybody feels like that sometimes…I know I do! =)

  3. ndjmom 20/04/2011 at 3:43 am #

    Boxed soup is the new gourmet soup, canned soup just leaves you with the stigma that you’re cheating and it’s cheap.

    I love food and photographing it too, I don’t care if it’s from scratch or my grapefruit in the morning,..which by the way I haven’t done that topic yet.

  4. Alida 20/04/2011 at 6:34 am #

    It sure would be wonderful every now and then to find a good soup already prepared like that around here… I am jealous!

  5. Katie Weber 20/04/2011 at 6:49 am #

    I’m not that great at cooking most of the time. So don’t worry, I’m not judging you at all for making soup from a carton. I do it too!

    I’m new to your blog! I found you through FTLOB and I can’t wait to read more! Feel free to check out my blog!

    Simply Kate

  6. trailergypsy 20/04/2011 at 8:35 am #

    I used to HATE cooking. I ate Taco Bell, 7-11 Taquitos and/or Kraft Mac n Cheese every night and would walk to the grocery store for a roll and a can of soup for lunch every day. The only time I posted a recipe was when it was Christmas and I made muddy buddies. Then I quit my job, moved to another state to be with my boyfriend and have been fortunate enough that his income covers us both. I found I had a lot of time on my hands and that’s when I started to enjoy cooking. When I worked 12 hour days I was just too damn tired. All I wanted to do was play some WoW, not spend another hour standing in the kitchen. Now I find cooking to be fun. It’s kind of like a craft project, I get to decide what I want to add or what I want to leave out of someone else’s recipe. I get to play around, experiment. That still doesn’t mean I want to do it all of the time though. I generally cook two or three times a week and make sure I made enough that there are leftovers. Then we eat out once a week too usually. Anyway, sorry for the book. There are some awesome food blogs out there and they are intimidating, I’m not that person either. I hate the ones where I have to look up half of what they are talking about, I just don’t follow that stuff. Anyway, that soup looks freaking delicious. They used to make one in a green box that was some kind of southwest corn chowder thing, SO GOOD.

  7. Kellie Collis 20/04/2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Fabulous idea! I love it when I can have a delicious meal without stressing so much about cooking. Enjoy the lovely day, Kellie xx

  8. Meri 20/04/2011 at 1:16 pm #

    There are some pretty delicious boxed soups out there! There is a Pacific one that is carrot ginger that I LOVE!

  9. Katie 21/04/2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Please don’t ever walk away! I’d miss you too much 😦 I love your blog so much…as if you didn’t know. And I love the fact that you are not a domestic goddess, because neither am I. I’m constantly cooking out of the box mac n cheese, Ramen noodles, canned soups, etc. And hey! I think we’re better for it. Who wants to be one of those perfect (BORING) domestic goddesses anyway?

  10. Gia 21/04/2011 at 7:49 pm #

    That looks so delicious. Soups are a pain to make. I’m always opting for the open and pour option! 🙂

  11. Jeri Lynne 22/04/2011 at 11:53 am #

    Soup in a box?!?! I am so gonna hafta find some of those! Thank you for the encouraging comment about my basket; I still am not too sure about it! I am really looking forward to browsing your blog and ‘getting to know you’ a bit. Have a lovely night!

Leave a Reply

