…And then the cat got fleas.

17 Apr

I picked the wrong week to go AWOL. My darling friend Katie from Chicken Noodle Gravy featured little ol’ me on her lovely blog! You can read the post Here 😀

Katie is a total wordsmith, the way she writes is so…melodic. Her words just flow. And her words about me made me cry happy tears! Thank you Katie, it means the world to me that you think so highly of me and my photography ♥

I haven’t posted in a couple of days, i think i’ve been in a slump. I get that way sometimes, i’m kind of a diva 😛 This is what i’ve been up to…

Sweet potato, asparagus & portobello mushroom risotto

Thats me in a wheel. Its just the way i roll.

 

A glass of red at dusk. Nice.

 I’ve also discovered a new TV show. It’s called Leverage. Have you seen it? I’ve been watching it online.

We also had a rental inspection by the real estate. I went mental cleaning and tidying, but they barely checked anything and then told me it was the most nicely furnished/decorated place on their books. Naturally the oven died the next day!

And last but not least, the cat had fleas. I never thought i would find it so embarrassing, but it seems to be on par with how you’d feel if your kid came home from school with headlice. You know it’s normal, you know it can happen even if your house and kid/furkid is clean…..but it’s just so gross!

So we’ve been madly washing sheets and cushions and vacuuming and accosted the cat with an assortment of flea products in a frenzy of flea elimination. I’d love to hear any handy hints or tricks you may wish to share!

The Mr now thinks the name of this blog is hilarious *cue eye roll from me* 😛

I hope you’re having a lovely weekend, and don’t forget to drop in and say hi to Katie at Chicken Noodle Gravy xx

11 Responses to “…And then the cat got fleas.”

  1. sarah 17/04/2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Love Leverage. I have been watching online as well. Germany we don’t get many american shows.

  2. TexaGermaNadian 17/04/2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I saw your feature on Katie’s site, too cute! And fleas, oh no. I remember in college my cat got the worst infestation. So annoying to try to get rid of. Hopefully they are all gone and the little bites you inevitably have all over your feet and legs are gone 🙂
    I have been here lots before, but stopped over today from FTLOB Comment Love Day. Hope you have a great one!
    http://texagermanadian.blogspot.com/

  3. Mervi Laakso 17/04/2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Hi love! Oh that risotto sounds so yummy 🙂 I must go check out the recipe! Sounds like you’ve had an eventful couple of days! I hope you get rid off the little buggers!
    xox mervi

  4. Melissa Smith 17/04/2011 at 7:09 pm #

    I’m so sorry your cat got fleas. Your husbands reaction sounds a lot like mine would have. Except we’re dog lovers.. (shh its kinda not kosher to say that though) anyways, hoppy comment sunday! Love you’re blog! so sassy.

  5. kelli @ Narragansett No. 7 17/04/2011 at 10:56 pm #

    oooooo…fleas. I’ve heard that sprinkling a bit of garlic powder on dog or cat food, drives the fleas away. Congrats on The Dish! Isn’t Katie fantastic? I get swept away by her posts. Melodic is the perfect description of her writing.

  6. Sonya 17/04/2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Awww, my cat got fleas when he was a baby. I think my parents and I cared more than the cat, but we just hosed him down with some flea treatment spray and a collar, and they went away.

  7. Katie 18/04/2011 at 12:30 am #

    Aw, you’re so sweet! I thank goodness that Kelli over at No. 7 led me to you and your blog. You’ve become a dear friend, and I so look forward to visiting your blog and seeing what beautiful things you have to post and say.

    Ha! Your wheel picture made me LOL. How adorable! And oh no about the fleas. We’ve had fleas before, especially after we adopted our youngest cat Poe. Poor Poe, she was covered in fleas when we got home with her…and then the house became covered with fleas. It’ll make you feel dirty, but it can happen to anyone for sure…at least that’s what I tell myself. We finally got rid of ours with some prescription Advantage for cats.

    Hope you have a lovely weekend, buddy! And thanks again for letting me feature you on The Dish 🙂

  8. Mrs. Ali 18/04/2011 at 1:38 am #

    Oh man I’ve had to deal with this multiple times! I have 2 cats and they are always getting fleas. The best thing I’ve found is to wash everything in hot water, including the cat. And get some strong flea-killing shampoo for said cat. Hope everything goes well!!

    Stopping by from FTLOB!

  9. Meri 18/04/2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Lol- why WOULDN”T you be in a wheel, right? Welcome back!

  10. Amie 18/04/2011 at 11:44 pm #

    mmm the risotto looks so yummy! love all of your photos. following you now from FTLOB :]

  11. Trish 24/04/2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Hate fleas – Leon doesnt get them, thankfully. I am not a fan of real estate agents either…

Leave a Reply

