When I was a teenager…

8 Apr

…I was in awe of my parents cocktail cabinet. For the “exotic” liquers, for the alluring colours of Midori and the like, but mostly because it always seemed so full. Didn’t they ever drink it? Did they just restock it all the time when i wasn’t looking?

My teenage self couldn’t get over the fact that there were half-full bottles in there. Why didn’t they drink it in one go like my friends and I did with our vodka cruisers? How could they stand it!?

Which brings me to my current day self. There are half-full bottles of things in my cupboard. And on top of my fridge. And in my fridge. How can i stand it?

*Yes Mum, i remember the time i got into the Midori when you were on holidays. You made me pay for a new bottle. 😛

**First two pictures courtesy of Weheartit

***Last photo is me boozing it up 😉

****It’s Thirsty Thursday on FTLOB 😀

5 Responses to “When I was a teenager…”

  1. Genevieve 08/04/2011 at 6:49 pm #

    HA HA as we age, we learn to enjoy the beautiful liquor at a more leisurely pace (sometimes!)

  2. Sophie 08/04/2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I was talking about their alcohol cabinet the other day with terry, and how I watered down dads’ rum once :/ haha I am drinking arrogant frog red wine, it’s helping me study… We must be sisters! Lovev you x

  3. Katie 08/04/2011 at 10:57 pm #

    HA! I love it. I was just lamenting about this last night. ONE margarita knocked me on my ass last night. I feel like I’ve been beaten this morning. REALLY?!! What a cruel thing to happen on my 28th birthday week…another reminder of how OLD I am.

    Oh, and those Vodka Cruisers look yum. I wonder if we have those in the US?

  4. Meri 09/04/2011 at 5:58 am #

    I remember the turning point when I was no longer desperate to have “enough” beer or alcohol around the dorm/ house. The funny thing is, after I was old enough to buy it myself I no longer desperately wanted it so often haha!

  5. Kwitts 18/04/2011 at 1:57 am #

    I’m 32 and have never had any sort of alcohol in the house for any length of time… I have to buy as I go because I’ll just drink until it’s all gone. It annoys the crap out of me! I’d love to have a fully-stocked liquor cabinet. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

