What i’ve been reading…

29 Mar

Move over Pride & Prejudice…i have a new collection obsession…

Nancy Drew! I found these 4 books in a little second hand bookstore in Maleny, for a couple of dollars each. I was sold.

I loooved Nancy growing up, but i have to say it was funny to go back and read them again. Nancy is very….self assured. And George is SO mean to Bess about her weight! Being …plump… myself i may be a little sensitive to it, but in every single book there’s a weight reference about Bess, and usually from George. Probably a thing of the era it was written in though, and it can’t have affected me too much as a kid because i don’t remember ever noticing it back in the day 😛

Since watching the Sherlock Holmes Movie, my interest in the books has been piqued. I’ve actually had this book on my shelf for a couple of years, purely because it looked good 😛 I’ve read the first two novels so far, and they’re so interesting!

A quote from Sherlock jumped out at me in the first novel:

It is a capital mistake to theorize before you have all the evidence. It biases the judgement.

 Tell me what you’ve been reading lately, i’m always on the lookout for something new ♥

5 Responses to “What i’ve been reading…”

  1. snippets of thyme 29/03/2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Thanks for visiting! I loved Nancy Drew too. But, for some reason, I was so attached to the Trixie Belden Series. You should line those up on your list! I pulled in some childhood favorites recently too. I have a nice collection of Beatrix Potter books I just purchased…

  2. Gigi 30/03/2011 at 5:05 am #

    This is a post after my own heart! I love Sherlock Holmes mysteries, and I actually really liked that movie, too. Have you ever watched the old BBC series starring Jeremy Brett? It’s really wonderful. Now I’m watching the brand new “Sherlock” series, and LOVING it, too! In fact, I’ve got an Amazon link to it on the sidebar of my blog. They’ve even got blogs that go along along with the series, as if Sherlock and Watson are writing them themselves–so fun. I’m totally hooked. I read through all the novels one summer, and have loved SH ever since.

    And don’t get me started on nancy Drew! Collected those books as a kid and have reread a few as an adult. Love how self-assured she is. You’re right about that mean George. What a jerk! 😀

  3. Georgia*Bakery Bookery 30/03/2011 at 10:08 am #

    Ah Nancy Drew… And how good is Sherlock Holmes?! I’m a recent convert to the books myself after watching the recent excellent TV series with Benedict Cumberbatch (also, best name ever!)

    Other great books I’ve stumbled upon recently: Harbour by John Aljvide Linqvist, The Ghost – Robert Harris, The Radleys, The Hunger Games….

    Happy reading!

  4. Katie 30/03/2011 at 11:39 am #

    *sigh* Pride and Prejudice. This will always be one of my favorite books!

    I’ve never read Nancy Drew, but I’ve always heard great things. I have read The Hound of the Baskervilles, and from what I remember, it was excellent.

    Sadly, I haven’t been reading much lately 😦 But you’ve inspired me to dig out some of my old books to re-read.

  5. sami 31/03/2011 at 3:31 am #

    holy cow, i love the idea of re-reading favorite childrens books! have you read the fledgling or the giver or tuck everlasting? love them! are you on goodreads?

    xo
    sami

Leave a Reply

